Community television stations are licensed according to the provisions of the Broadcasting Services Act 1992. A copy of the Act can be found on the ComLaw website.

The main parts of the Act relevant to community television include:


Section 15, which defines the nature of community broadcasting services
Part 6 (Sections 79 to 92) which covers the procedures for issuing and renewing community broadcasting licences; and states the licence conditions on community broadcasting licences including the conditions specific to community television licensees.
Schedule 2, clause 9, which includes further licence conditions for community broadcasters, including the prohibition on broadcasting advertising material, encouraging community participation, and the allowed amount and placement of sponsorship announcements.
Schedule 2, clause 2 provides some specific exemptions from the prohibition of advertising under certain conditions, and outlines other material which is not to be taken as broadcasting an advertisement.



Australian Television Links

Community TV in Australia

Community TV Stations
Community TV Codes of Practice
ACTA Contacts
Australian Communications and Media Authority
C31 Melbourne and Geelong
TVS - Television Sydney
31 Digital Queensland
Channel 44 Adelaide
  Copyright 2011 The Australian Community Television Alliance (ACTA)